The Greatest Physics Discoveries of the 20th Century

laureate photos
Location: Online via Zoom

Date: Friday 31 July 2020

Time: 17:00 - 19:00 BST

RSVP: FREE to attend by Zoom but registration required. Book your place here.

Zoom details for the event will be sent to registered attendees after the registration deadline has closed.
Please contact with any queries.




A Nobel Laureate panel will discuss their choices for "The Greatest Physics Discovery of the 20th Century".

Confirmed panellists are:

Professor Steven Weinberg ForMemRS (Nobel Prize in Physics, 1979)

Professor William Phillips (Nobel Prize in Physics, 1997)

Professor Sir Anthony Leggett FRS (Nobel Prize in Physics, 2003)

Professor John Mather (Nobel Prize in Physics, 2006)

Confirmed discussants are:

Professor Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell FRS FRSE (University of Oxford)

Professor S. James Gates Jr (Brown University)

Professor Chung-Pei Ma (University of California, Berkeley)



Session Chair: Professor Brian Greene (Columbia University)


17:05 Professor Steven Weinberg ForMemRS

17:25 Professor William Phillips

17:45 Professor Sir Anthony Leggett FRS

18:05 Professor John Mather


18:45 Q & A

19:00 CLOSE