St Cross College "A Medley of Dvorák and Dances" Concert

Location: The Hall

Date: Thursday, 1 December 2022

Time: 19:00

RSVP: Please book via this form.

Please send any queries about this event to the Senior Tutor (Academic Affairs & Programmes) at

The Crosswinds will return for another showcase of woodwind music on the 1st December. For this concert the core ensemble will be augmented by strings as well as piano and will feature the majestic Serenade for Wind Instruments by Antonín Dvorák, together with an arrangement of his uplifting Polonaise in E-Flat major. Alongside these works the Crosswinds will celebrate the end of term with some playful dance music, including a suite of dances by Hallam, the premiere of a new arrangement of Ravel's Five O'Clock Foxtrot and even a jazz version of Tchaikovsky's beloved Nutcracker Suite (for two bassoons and cello, naturally).

The Crosswinds are an ensemble of woodwind instrumentalists, featuring St Cross JRF Dr Nick Jones. They are Oxford-based and started life as a woodwind quintet, but quickly expanded to take on beautiful, rarely performed works for larger ensembles. This is their third concert at St Cross, following a performance of classical woodwind music (from Mozart to Gounod) in November 2021 and a summer concert exploring repertoire for woodwind and piano in June 2022.