'Four Corners' Poetry Competition - Commended Poets Announced


We are delighted to announce the full list of prizewinning and commended poets in the St Cross 50th Anniversary Poetry Competition 'Four Corners'. The names, with more information about each poet, are here. The anthology will be launched on Tuesday 13 October with a poetry reading and drinks reception. Enquiries to Ella Bedrock.

More on the competition winners Di Slaney and Thomas Paul Burgess, including the full winning poems, can be found here.

  St Cross Category                                

ROSEMARY APPLETON lives in Suffolk. Her DPhil (St Cross College, Oxford) was on medieval women's contributions to manuscript poetry anthologies.

Commended for her poem Air Mail

PAT BORTHWICK lives on the High Wolds of East Yorkshire. Her latest, of three, full-length collections is Admiral Fitzroy's Barometer (Templar).

Commended for her poems Rooster and Letter Home from China Beach

KASS BOUCHER teaches Creative Writing at the University of Winchester and won first prize in the Winchester Writers' Festival poetry competition in 2015.

Commended for her poem Association

St Cross Category - Winner

THOMAS PAUL BURGESS (MSc Educational Studies, 1989)

Read the winning poem Coming up to Oxford and biography here.

DAVID BUTLER's first poetry collection is Via Crucis (Doghouse, 2011) and his latest novel City of Dis, shortlisted in the Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year, 2015.

Commended for his poem And then the Sun Broke Through

NANCY CAMPBELL's books include How to Say 'I Love You' in Greenlandic (winner of the Birgit Skiöld Award 2013) and Disko Bay (forthcoming, Enitharmon).

Commended for her poem The Debate

St Cross Category

CHRISSIE CUTHBERTSON lives in Oxfordshire and Helsinki and was a lecturer and editor. Her poems and short stories have appeared in a variety of magazines.

Commended for her poem Roots

ALAN DUNNETT works as an acting coach at Drama Centre, Central Saint Martins. Poetry and news can be found at www.alandunnett.co.uk

Commended for his poem Tuning into the Slow Time

ROGER ELKIN is a poet, tutor, and former editor of Envoi. His poetry has won many awards and his eleventh collection Chance Meetings appeared in 2014.

Commended for his poem Our Daughter, her Path to the Well

ELIZABETH EZRA is an academic in Scotland, originally from the US. Her work has been longlisted in the National Poetry Competition and for other prizes.

Commended for her poem Slow Motion

MARK FIDDES is an alumnus of Merton College, Oxford. His collection The Chelsea Flower Show Massacre (Templar) was shortlisted for the 2015 Saboteur Award.

Commended for his poem Tierra del Fuego

JOHN D KELLY is from County Fermanagh and began writing in 2011. His work has many prizes and has appeared in various publications.

Commended for his poem Philogea

THEOPHILUS KWEK has written two poetry collections and won the Jane Martin Prize 2015. He is the current President of the Oxford University Poetry Society.

Commended for his poem The Weaver

ROB MOONEY's work is in many places e.g. Caterpillar children's poetry magazine and the anthology Let in the Stars, shortlisted for the Children's Poetry Prize.

Commended for his poem Ad Quattuor Cardines Mundi

JAN MORAN NEIL has recently completed a MSt in Creative Writing at Cambridge University and is working on a poetry collection God and Lipstick. www.janmoranneil.co.uk

Commended for her poem Birds in the Hand

WENDY ORR is a teacher and consultant. Recent poetry is in Ink, Sweat & Tears, Lighthouse and Gutter and she won the Mother's Milk Books Poetry Prize 2014.

Commended for her poem Harbouring

JENNA PLEWES is a retired psychotherapist and potter with two collections, Salt (2013) and Gifts(2014). More about her other poems is at www.jennaplewes.com

Commended for her poem Beware


YVONNE REDDICK is an academic and writer who read English at Cambridge where her poetry features in an exhibition. Her pamphlet Deerheart will appear in 2016.

Commended for her poems Mute Swan Cob, Opposite the Fishing Temple and Marula, Mulezia, Mutubetube...

JANE ROBINSON has a PhD in Biology (Caltech) and won the 2014 Strokestown Poetry Prize. Her work is in Poetry Ireland Review, Abridged and other journals.

Commended for her poems On the Corner of Every Map is a Compass and Unfamiliar Territory

LESLEY SAUNDERS is the author of six books of poetry, most recently The Walls Have Angels (Mulfran Press). She works with other poets, artists and dancers.

Commended for her poem The Four Corners

DEREK SELLEN has published widely, including in Cinnamon Press anthologies. Recently, he won the Five Words Competition and Poets Meet Politics.

Commended for his poem Burning the Hogweed

SENI SENEVIRATNE is a writer and creative artist. Her latest collection is The Heart of It (2012, Peepal Tree Press). www.seniseneviratne.com

Commended for her poem The Weight of the World

Open Category - Winner


Commended for her poem Walking to Eakring Brail Wood.

Won with her poem Nottinghamshire Sheet XXIX N.W. OS Edition of 1920. Read the full poem and biography here.

ALEXANDRA STRNAD MA (Camb) MA, MSt (Oxf) won the Jane Martin Poetry Prize in 2014. Her work has been published widely in the UK and overseas.

Commended for her poems Waiting in Lodi Gardens and The Camel

DENNI TURP lives in Gwynedd and works bilingually for Disability Arts Cymru across the six counties of north Wales. Her most recent work is published in Prole.

Commended for her poem Agnes Smedley Teaches Communists to Dance

ANTHONY WATTS is a retired library assistant living in rural Somerset. His most recent collection is The Shell-Gatherer (Oversteps, 2011).

Commended for his poem The Square Plate